Good Enough

See her eyes fall, when she looks in the mirror/Never satisfied, with what she sees there/Will she ever look past her own perception/Cause she never measures up/To the pictures in the magazines/She’s never good enough/And she wonders why she cares.

Endless, Amanda Falk, 2003

That song used to remind me of myself. In fact, the first time that I heard it I cried because I knew that it was me. I wasn’t satisfied, secure, or happy. I did not believe myself to be beautiful, and I constantly felt like I never measured up. I was not good enough.

Recently, while listening to that song, I realized that I no longer identified with that girl. I didn’t shudder at the mirror, I barely compared myself, and I didn’t feel the need to hide behind a pound of make-up. I was satisifed, secure, and happy. I felt good and beautiful. What had happened? I knew that I was good enough.

It may seem trivial, but it truly is important to our lives as young women, human beings, and Christians. If we want to be happy, and feel beautiful we must realize that we are good enough. We must look past the myths of make-up and the perfect weight and models, and remember the truth of our Saviour, Jesus Christ. We need to realize that we were created specifically by a God who loves us, for a very special purpose.

For you created my inmost being;

you knit me together in my mother’s womb.

I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made.

Your works are wonderful,

I know that full well.

Psalm 139:13-14

And God doesn’t make mistakes. No, everything He does is meant to be and done well. He made us beautiful just the way we are. Whatever we may not like about ourselves, whether it is our height or our build, the colour of our hair or our crooked teeth, know that God created you that way for a purpose and He loves it. You are good enough to Him.

4 thoughts on “Good Enough

  1. My friends are I were just talking about this exact issue and you worded this post perfectly! We are perfect the way we are because God has made us, and that’s just incredible. :)

  2. Loved your post! Amazing! :) Contunie to do the work of Lord.

    Love you!
    Avonlea

    P.S. I miss you a lot. I pray you come safely. :)

  3. Thank you all for your comments! It was encouraging to read while I was away (even though I didn’t reply much.) I am back now and I look forward to blogging and catching up on your lives, too!

Leave a Reply

