When Sixteen Isn’t So Sweet

Sixteen. It’s the magic age where you can drive. Its a romantic time where they call you sweet. I used to think it was when you fell in love forever. It is the year that all of your dreams come true. Unless you’re me.

I was scared to turn sixteen. I didn’t want the day to come.  I don’t know where I got the idea, but somehow I knew that sixteen would change everything. I was losing my innocence and going into a world of unknown and scary things. Just because it was sweet, even though I could drive, and although I would fall in love and my dreams would come true, I dreaded my birthday.

I failed my knowledge test on the day that I turned sixteen. Even though it was just an exam, I cried and cried. I felt like a horrible failure. And although I was cheered by “happy birthdays,” cards, and presents, dinner out, and a call from a new, special friend, I was still miserable. Sixteen wasn’t sweet to me.

Sure enough, sixteen was anything like what I thought it would be. I never did drive and no one called me ‘sweet.’ My grandma died less than two months after my birthday. My grades dropped, and I hid myself in the mask because of my misconceptions on beauty. The feelings that I thought were “true love” soon turned into hurt as a friend disappointed me. Not one of my dreams came true. Sixteen was anything but sweet.

Today, I’m seventeen. Its been a year since all of this started, though it feels like a thousand. It is hard for me to believe that I am the same person who cried on her birthday, and wished that she could be eight again, just one year ago. I’m so happy today and life seems so worth living that now I finally feel sweet.

But that’s just the mystery of life, I guess. God never tells us what He has in store for us. Often, He gives us dreams and turns them into something totally different. And in the end, the grief and the suffering make the joy and the happiness much sweeter, even if sixteen wasn’t.

14 thoughts on “When Sixteen Isn’t So Sweet

  1. Hi Liz,
    This post is so like me. I never did like “sweet sixteen” and it wasn’t the best year for me either. I hope 17 will be the best year for us together. I know it’s starting well for me!!
    Love,
    Kaleigh

    • I never knew that, Kaleigh! Well, let’s just be “sweet seventeen” together instead! I actually think this is going to be a great year, too…no matter what happens.
      Love,
      Liz

  2. Happy Birthday, Liz!
    I hope your seventeenth year will be as “sweet” as can be!

    I’m turning sixteen in a few days, as a matter of fact. :D Year fifteen of my life has been one of the most difficult and ‘painful’ years so far, and I am looking forward to a fresh start on my 16th birthday. But I agree with what you wrote in this post, that “sweet sixteen” doesn’t really mean anything special at all! It’s just another year. :)

    • Thank you, Sarah!

      Happy early birthday (I will wish you happy birthday again, too :)). I’m so sorry that you have had a challeging year, and I hope that sixteen will be “sweeter” for you. Remember that God loves you and that He is working this all out for a divine and wonderful purpose. I think that each of our years has the potential to be the best that it can be. I don’t know what troubles will come my way this year but I know that with God I can conquer them and have the best year yet. I intend to make every year better than the last. Trust in God, and let Him be your strength and this will be an amazing year!!!

      Love,
      Liz

  3. Happy Birthday sweetheart! :) I know exactly how you feel. Sixteen was one of the worse years of my life, but I have learned from the mistakes, trails, and pain from that year. I will be 21 next month, and I am nervous. They say you finally mature when you are 21 but I still want to be a child sometimes. I am praying that God teaches you in your seventeenth year. You are a true blessing in my life. :)

    Love you,
    Avonlea

    • Thank you, Avonlea! And thank you for the cute e-card, too. You are always so sweet and thoughtful! I know the nerves that you are feeling, and I will ask God to take them away from you. I think that God will do great things through you in your 21st year! Just trust in Him and keep doing what you are doing. :)

      Love,
      Elizabeth

  4. This is a great, true post! We sometimes set specific times for ourselves–everything will be great after ____ age, but sometimes, it’s not true at all! We just have to go along with the flow.

Leave a Reply

