Tea & Jesus

If you know me well, then you’ll also know that I LOVE tea! I drink it in the mornings before breakfast and for a break in the afternoon. Sometimes, I’ll even have another cup later if I’m offered one. I cannot resist tea. I drink it for comfort and pleasure. I love it, but on Wednesday I gave it up.

As you can probably guess, I gave it up for lent.

It is now day three and I am madly wishing for some tea. Really, you do not know how badly I want to fill the kettle with some water and set my tea cup out. I’ve woken up with a sore, dry throat every morning since Ash Wednesday, which I longed to cure with tea. In the afternoons, I missed my tea break in the middle of grueling studies. Today, I needed comforting, but I could not resolve myself with a simple cup. It was hard. A sacrifice, to be sure.

I know I’ve said this already, but faith has been harder than normal in these past few months. I’ve run and hid from God. I’ve gotten really mad, too. In it all, I realize how much I really need Him. No matter how hard I try, I can’t do it on my own.

So now, I bring my sacrifice to the altar. I know that the price for my sins has been paid already. I know that He loves me enough without all this fuss. Yet I need this and I’m giving up something that I want to follow Him. Maybe tea isn’t that deep. Perhaps there is more that I could give. But I think that somehow, this may be a journey of faith.

 A journey to find Jesus again. A journey partway home. A journey in which I learn to give more of my heart to the One who created it.

I have 37 days left! God, please be my pleasure and comfort in these days of lent and always.

7 thoughts on “Tea & Jesus

  1. Good job! I will def be praying and encouraging you. You can do it the whole 40 days. I gave something I love for Lent as well. Every day I am drawn more and more closer to God. I love it so much!

    You can do it!

  2. So nice to find another blogger is doing Lent, Liz!I have a lot of Christian friends who aren’t doing it, which is disappointing to me. You’ve stated Lent masterfully…”it is a journey partway home.” How wonderful! :)

    Oooh, giving up tea…that’s a good one! Why didn’t I think of that one?! I drink it all the time, too. But my mother suggested that I give up idioms–which I apparently use a lot–so that’s what I went with. I’ve given up different things up in the past–makeup, caffeine, etc. But I took my mother’s suggestion, anyway! I’m also “taking on” two different things as a goal: one being to go outside, take a walk, be active etc, two being trying to stop and see beauty in something when I’m really miffed at the world.

    Lent is always a challenge for me because I’m not a huge fan of fish…so meatless Fridays are a challenge! Still, that challenge to me is just a reminder of a HINT of what Jesus went through. So Lent’s goal is achieved.

    • Yay! Other than my sister, you and Avonlea are the only ones that I know who are doing Lent! It is nice to find someone else who is fasting and going through the same thing. ;)

      Idioms! That sounds interesting! How is it going so far? And that’s a great idea to take on some goals as well.

      Oh, meatless Fridays! I read about those and I think I might try doing them as well. :)

  3. As you can tell I’m slowly going through your “past treasures”, written yesterday, but still good today. I love tea also, but only hot. (I hate cold tea, unless it was hot tea that just sat to long. lol!) I like loose leaf best. I like to mix things. Some of God’s simple pleasures! I like black coffee, too! I’m a truch driver, what can I say? Guess I’m a cowboy, too. Getting to be an old cowboy, but not yet! I want to be a cowboy for God and die with my spiritual boots on. Sounds like something I should write! Thanks for a new thought, Elizabeth! May God bless your lent.

Leave a Reply

