A Snow That Never Melts

One spring morning, when I was about eight, I woke up to a light-but-considerable-for-me-dumping-of-snow. My sister and I were thrilled! Unfortunately we couldn’t go out and play in it right then as we had our home school group to go to. I remember feeling restless all morning, wishing the time away to when I could go back home and play in the snow. When I finally arrived at my house, about five hours later, I was dismayed to find that it had all melted away, with only a very tiny patch of whiteness left. I was utterly disappointed! The thing that I had longed for, dreamed of, and thought about all day was gone and was not likely to come back for another year.

Life is often like the melted snow for me on that spring day when I was eight, with opportunities that don’t work out, chances that never happen, loved ones that die, people who forsake you, and friends who turn their back on you, life never ceases to disappoint us. Everywhere we turn, it often seems that something else has gone wrong whether it be that we didn’t get the part in the play or we failed the math final, our best friend lied to us or the guy/girl that we like tells us that they don’t feel the same way anymore. Basically, life is an unending mess of disappointment. Even if you have low expectations, you’ll still be disappointed because sometimes low expectations won’t even come true.

For me, as the years have gone by, there have been much bigger dissapointments than the snow that melted. There was the horse I never had, the teacher who betrayed me, the friendships that failed, the parts I didn’t get and the plays that I didn’t make, the science tests that I failed, the family members that didn’t become Christians when I wanted them to, the dogs that died, the relationship that didn’t work out, the Grandma that died…Sometimes I just feel like the snow is always melting for me and that it will never, ever stick where it is supposed to.

And you know, I am right when I say that, in a way: there is snow in our lives that will always melt, no matter what we do to try to prevent it. Even if we put buckets out in the front yard to collect the rain that falls, or cover the snow with a tarp to keep the sun from melting it, even if we pray to God that it will stick, there will always be people and opportunities that disappoint us, snow that melts.

However, I am also wrong for there is one thing, one person that will stick like the perfect snow, that will never melt even when the sun shines, that will not disappear with the rainfall. He is the creator of this world: of the snow that melts and the people who disappoint us; the collector of the tears that fall when the rain washes away our snow; the saviour of the sins that mar the  clear, white path and the Father, Lover, and Friend of the ugly grass and dirt that ruin the snowy white presence. And though the snow is nice, though the rain still falls and the sun still melts and rocks our world, He is the only one that we really need. For He will provide, and defend, and love…He is enough for us. And He will never be washed away for He is the Lord of all, the Friend to everyone, the Father of the world, the Love that never fails, the Snow that never melts….

The grass withers and the flowers fall, but the word of God stands forever.

Isaiah 40: 8

Elizabeth

8 thoughts on “A Snow That Never Melts

  1. Elizabeth,
    Wow! Yet another post with a beautiful message!
    You have such a beautiful, smooth, and lyrical writing style, and I love it!
    Disappointment is a common thread in everyone’s lives, whether it be a lost toy that could not be found, or a seemingly perfect job that didn’t work out.
    But I think one of the most important things to remember is : “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to his purpose” – Romans 8:28
    I love the “the Love that never fails, the Snow that never melts” part. 🙂
    ~Sarah

    • Thank you Sarah! Your compliments mean a lot to me 🙂

      Romans 8:28 is one of my favourite verses! I love the comfort that it gives, knowing that whatever disapointing, confusing circumstance I am going through it is all being worked out for an eventual good purpose that will benefit me. I’ve even had the privilage of experiencing this verse in my life before and it was amazing! God is SO good in all that He does for us!

      Elizabeth

  2. you could also compare God to the green grass underneath. We seems to cover him up with our wants and desires and when those melt away he is all that is left and all that we need.

    • Thank you for commenting, Ben!

      I like your analogy of God being the grass…so true as well! Unfortunately, all too often we cover up God with what we deem more important and do not realize His importance until it is shattered. Thankfully we have a patient and loving God who gives us an endless amount of second chances!

      I really appreciate your insights on things. Thank you for sharing on here 🙂

      Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

