Reading With My Heart, Mind, And Soul

Scroll of the Book of Proverbs

Image via Wikipedia

Sometimes I wonder if we as Christians actually read God’s word. Yes, we quote and memorize from it, and open it up at church but do we ever, actually read it for what it is and embrace it? Because I’ve seen a lot of bad reading jobs lately. I’ve watched pre-formed beliefs, the difficulty of it’s language, and off-hand comments from others block our view of God’s word. And I’m not excluding myself from this group. No, I’m including myself whole-heartedly for I am the worse culprit of this misinterpretation of my Lord’s word.

I’ll get mad at the Bible because it is confusing. I’ll refuse to read controversial parts such as Titus, and parts of Corinthians, and Proverbs. I will skim through the genealogies in the old testament. I’ll opt to read a novel in the morning instead of Leviticus with all it’s long ago laws and punishments. But yet I profess to be a Christian,  and I carry my infamous Bible to church with pride. What is this?

It is…

The actor in me coming out at the wrong moment and pretending that I know it all…

The writer in me creeping through in the worst way and re-writing the Bible to fit my beliefs and desires…

The child in me that was unflattering enough when I was 6, but even more terrible now that I’m 16, pouting because I don’t like what I see…

It’s the sin in me taking over and forgetting the most important commandment…”Love the Lord your God with all of your heart and all of your mind and all of your soul””…

I’m taking a fresh start at reading my Bible now. I’m not going to pretend I know it all, or re-word what I don’t know, pout about the things that make me mad, or refuse to read the parts I don’t like. No, this time I’m going to realize that I’m just a human who doesn’t know anything, reading a book by a God who knows everything. I’m going to read every nook and cranny of its pages, even when I don’t understand or it makes me mad. I’m going to seek, ask questions, and find as many answers as I can. I will read faithfully and I won’t put it down. Most of all, I’m going to embrace the Bible, and try to love the Lord with all of my heart, mind, and soul.

12 thoughts on “Reading With My Heart, Mind, And Soul

  1. Thank you, Elizabeth, for showing me how fickle humans can be–trying to act like Christians, but not really believing or behaving like Christians. Loving the Lord with all your heart, soul, mind, and strength, definitely puts every part of our lives into perspective.

  2. I love how you put it… embracing God’s word. I know I do the same thing… we like the encouraging verses and the love ones but we cringe when Jesus tells us to give everything we have and follow him. I’ll pray that your renewed journey through God’s word is mind blowing and great. Great post, honesty is hard but when God shows us something like this, it is for a greater good and that is our sanctification. Keep it up, friend!

    -RuthAnne

    • So true! Us Christians seem to have a weakness for those nice-sounding-verses but we find it harder (sometimes) to apply the ones about our duty as believers.

  3. Your post shows great aspect on how Christians are not perfect like the pre-label say’s that others choose to use as a general label towards Christians…

    S^K

  4. I could not agree more with what you are talking about. I often stumble and fall at reading the Word with all my heart, mind, and soul. It amazes me how wise you are. Keep growing and learning from the Lord. He has truly blessed me with your posts.

    Love you,
    Avonlea

    • That’s so true!!! It doesn’t matter how much you know if you don’t apply it. As my dad says, “Knowledge is knowing, widsom is applying.” Thank you for your insight!

  5. Very good insight! But to an extent i believe bible reading is over rated. Yes, i know that this may sound terrible and heretical but hear me out: “Anyone who listens to the word but does not do what it says is like a man who looks at his face in a mirror” James 1:23 This can go two ways: one who is a hypocrate or one who is a pharisee. Both of whom Jesus dealed with in the new testiment. Now, the reason i say it is over rated is because the Church teaches on reading one’s bible, reading one’s bible, and reading one’s bible. Yes, we get it. But that is not enough, nor should it be one’s top priority in the Christian life. Yes, “faith comes from hearing and hearing from the word of God” (matthew 4:4) but this “faith” is nothing if it has no works as we see in James. This leads me to my conclusion: It is not reading the bible that is important it is the action that is provoked by reading. Great post! keep up the awesome work!
    -Daniel P.
    themusingsdp.blogspot.com

    • Thank you for reading and offering your own insight, Daniel! I agree with you that it is definitely important for us to put what we read into practice. It is so easy to simply read something, say it sounds nice, and even write a blog post about it and then totally ignore the lesson that it has “taught” you when actually confronted with a real life situation. Reading God’s word is more involved than reading other books…we need to do what it says and try our best to live by it to actually make it effective!!!

  6. That is so true and so very insightful. Thankyou for posting this, it is realy encouraging!!!
    I definately know the feeling of wanting to read a novel rather than the God’s word!
    When I read psalm 119 I’m amazed at how much the psalmist loves the word of God and how it is the deepest desire of his heart to know and obey the statutes and commandments of God.
    It’s easy to just “read” the Bible and not really learn. It reminds me of something my piano teacher says to me. It goes something like “Hearing is not the same as listening, even a duck can hear” (I think it’s a quote from a contemperary of Tchaikovsky) And so often, I know in my own life especialy, we can hear what God is saying, without actualy listening to what He is trying to tell us.
    I’ll definately be praying for you in this area! Keep up the posts!!!

    Psalm 119:2 Blessed are those who keep His testimonies, Who seek Him with their whole heart!

    • Hey Tiana! Glad to hear from you :).

      And thank you for your lovely comment! It is always my prayer that my writing is encouraging to others.

      I love the quote. That is so true! Listening is definitely an area I need to work on (listening to God as well as others!)

      Thank you for your prayers. You are always in mine as well 🙂

      Love,
      Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

