Who Am I?

Sometimes I wonder who I am…

Yes, I know that I’m Elizabeth. But who am I, really? What am I meant for? What am I valued for? What am I supposed to do with my life? How am I to act? Who am I?

Because this world is a muddle of ideas, rules, laws, and visions for what I should be and do and who I am. Day after day, I lie awake at night, wondering and praying about who I am and who I need to become. It’s confusing. I hear a voice, I hear an answer but I’m still unsure. I still have questions, the biggest of which is who am I?

This world is full of different people with different ideas…

You’re a girl so you need to wear this shirt, that skirt, and put on make-up to look good.

Dress modestly for goodness sakes! Cover this, and cover that and don’t paint yourself! You’re a girl!

Go out in the world, be this and be that, make money, be accomplished, and famous.

Your proper duty is at home, and you are best employed in cooking, and cleaning the house.

Do this, do that because you’re not a proper woman if you don’t.

Be this, be that because you’re not a good Christian if you aren’t.

But there is a voice stronger than all of those muddled voices in the background. He calls me by name with love, and adoration. He knows me better than anyone else because He created me and all mankind. He knows what I am supposed to do, and who I should be. He has a purpose and a plan for my life, and it is good.

And I just have to trust in Him, and let Him fill me through and through. I need to be like him, like a ‘little christ.’ I need to put Him in me, and build my identity on Him and His love. Yes, that is who I am.

3 thoughts on “Who Am I?

  1. I’m so blessed that you wrote this blog. I had a moment like this yesterday. I didn’t know who I was or what I would become. However, I do know who Christ. I love how you put it a “little Christ”. I have never looked it in the context. I am so blessed to read this. New prespective to my life 🙂

    Love you!
    Avonlea

Leave a Reply

