Unmasked At Last

This obsession with the mask started 5 years ago…

At first, it was just the realization that when I wore stage make-up in my plays, my new blemishes disappeared. With that, I found that I liked the look and the feeling of the mask much better. I looked forward to putting make-up on for my plays. Pretty soon, I began wearing the make-up a couple of times a week…then everyday…and then I couldn’t stop.

There isn’t anything particularly wrong with make-up, but the way that it consumed me wasn’t healthy because it brought me farther away from God, and His design for beauty. Last summer, I found myself refusing to swim, and when I did I had to rush to a mirror and put on more make-up. I always had to carry foundation with me in my purse, and I hated for people to see me without make-up. Wearing the mask distorted my view on beauty, and made me unhappy.

When I realized this, I wanted to change but I felt that I couldn’t. The mask had taken over so much that I didn’t even know where to begin. Finally, I said a prayer to God, and He told me that He would not take away my blemishes and zits until I saw myself as beautiful the way I was. I had to accept myself, and go out uncovered. I had to strip my mask, and delight in the true face that He had given me.

And today I did that. I left the mask and all its insecurities behind, and delighted in the love and confidence of God. I wore no mask.

I realized finally, that life without the mask is happier and freer. I did not have to worry about make up lines or smearing foundation on my white shirt. I didn’t have to remember to bring make-up along in my purse when I went out, and I could only smile when water dripped onto my chin during my dentist appointment. And when I looked in the mirror, I appreciated the beauty that God has given me even more. I found freedom, confidence, and beauty without the mask.

Charm is deceptive and beauty is vain, but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.

– Proverbs 31:30

I challenge you to think of your insecurities and the ways that you try to hide them. Ask God for help, and persevere in finding ways to overcome the obstacles that keep you from full delight in Him.

14 thoughts on “Unmasked At Last

    • Your welcome :).

      And Kaleigh, you’ve always been a great help for me with inner beauty. I remember you scoffing at me when I said that I sometimes wore “make up now (three years ago) when I didn’t like my face.” In the earlier days, I was always comfortable wearing no make-up with you and your family.

      Keep on being who you are! You’re beautiful!

      Love,
      Elizabeth

      • Wow! I had no idea that I influenced you in that way! The saying that people are watching you whether or not you want it has really come true for me in the last few days. I didn’t even notice about your make-up or anything. But I know that you are beautiful without it! Your posts always encourage me and put things in a different light (that I don’t usually think of). God Bless!
        Love,
        Kaleigh

  1. I am very proud of you, Elizabeth. God has truly made you so beautiful. I am joyful to hear that you have unmasked yourself. You are so beautiful…always remember that.

    Love you!
    Avonlea

  2. What a great post! I know how it feels. I used to wear a lot of makeup because I was around this girl who always encouraged me to. She said guys only liked girls like her–girls who wore a lot of makeup, curvy, wore revealing clothes–and so I felt really pressured to do it. Two types of foundation, eye shadow, eye liner, mascara, blush…in constant fear of it being smeared.

    But then, I realized that God gave me all the natural beauty I needed and I didn’t need to wear so much. Now, I use mostly natural stuff–I moisturize. If I look really tired, I’ll put a little foundation on, and sometimes a little dab of mascara. . .but makeup’s always optional. I’ve got all I need from God, and if a boy doesn’t think so, he clearly needs to take up the issue with God! 😀

    And Elizabeth, you’re so beautiful! God blessed you!

    • Thank you Kate!

      It is encouraging to know that there are others who have gone through this struggle, too. And it’s not that there is anything wrong with wearing make-up–in fact, I’m wearing foundation, eye shadow, and mascara right now! The bad thing is when you are a slave to it, when you have to wear it, and you count on it to ‘”make” you beautiful. Then beauty is just discouraging, and makes you feel insecure.

      And thank you! I can see that God made you very beautiful, too! 🙂

  3. I really enjoyed this post! But the decision to wear make up or not (especially foundation) is a lot harder for girls (like me!) who have hereditary acne problems or extremely blemished skin.

    • I’m glad that you liked this, Sarah!

      Not wearing foundation continues to be hard for me, and I can definitely see that it would be hard if you had extremely blemished skin (mine is probably average.) There is really nothing wrong with wearing foundation; in fact, I still wear it depending on how I am feeling and where I am going. I think that it is fine to wear it everyday if you want, too. The problem is when you become a slave to it…when you feel that it is all that makes you beautiful. There is so much more to beauty than clear skin!!! Of course, if wearing make up makes you feel more comfortable then there is nothing wrong with that. I just meant that we need to recognize that we are beautiful with or without make up and that foundation (or whatever you wear) is not what makes us pretty.

      Always remember that God made you beautiful!!!

      Love and blessings,
      Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

