Not Made Cheaply

Sometimes, I think humans forget how much they are worth.

I walk down the street, and I see it. Girls wearing trashy clothes, and baring lots of skin. Frowns are on their faces, and I can’t see their eyes because of all the black liner and blue shadow. If only you knew how much you are worth.

I hear about girls, and read about them all the time. They starve, excercise, and make themselves throw up just to be thin. Others eat too much without thinking. They believe it doesn’t matter because they don’t matter. If only you knew how much you are worth.

Some girls will do anything just for love, or what they think is love. They’ll dress up, paint, and starve and more just to get what they think they need. And when they get the boy they’ll do whatever he wants them to do. If only you knew how much you are worth.

It’s a tragedy, it really is…how many girls, how many humans strive for these cheap desires and goals. We’re worth more. We deserve more. We weren’t made cheaply.

But it continues because this world is a haven of lies and destruction. People don’t tell us what we are worth or even that we are worth anything beyond their desires for us. They don’t want us to know. They won’t let us know. But we are worth more.

Why? Because there is a God in heaven who calls us by name, and counts the numbers of hairs on our head. Because He sent His one and only son to die so that we could live. Because He listens to our prayers, and answers when we call. Because we were fearfully and wonderfully made by Him and bought at a price. No, we were not made cheaply but with extreme love and care.

Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; you were bought at a price. Therefore honour God with your body.

1 Corinthians 5: 19-20

Remember this as you go about your daily life from eating and speaking to getting dressed and looking in the mirror. Remember that you were bought at a price and you are worth much more than you could imagine. Do not conform to anything less than what your Heavenly Father would desire for you!

Note: I realize that this is not just a “girl issue” but a “human issue.” However, I felt the need to focus on the “girl issue” today.

11 thoughts on “Not Made Cheaply

  1. Thank you Liz. I often forget that I am special in the sight of God and my body belongs to Him. He created me just the way I am, but I still need to take care of my body so it is useful for whatever He calls me to do. Great post!

  2. Hey! This is a really good point you’re making here and really cheered me up (and gave me a new favorite verse!). I (like most girls here on Earth!) suffer from insecurities from time to time and sometimes feel like I’m not good enough/perfect. But this post really reminds me nicely that God made me and He made me like this for a reason, so if someone doesn’t like that, they should take it up with Him! Jesus died for me and so he obviously thought I was worth it, that’s all that matters! 🙂

    It is really sad to see the girls you talk about here in every day life. It’s almost like they are blind by all their insecurities and can’t see how blessed they are. :/ I definitely pray for them!

    • Yeah, this is one of my new favourite verses, too :). It really is sad that we don’t value you our bodies the way that we should. I think that everyone does it…some more than others. It’s a horrible habbit though and one that I am trying to break. Never forget God’s amazing love for you, Kate!

  3. Awesome, Awesome post!! I LOVE this 🙂 It is so true; we were bought with the precious blood of the lamb! We are beautiful and of great worth in his sight, and we must carry ourselves as daughter’s of the King! Thank you for this lovely post

    • Thank you for your encouraging comment, Southern Belle. It really makes my day! It is so great to know that there are others out there who agree with me on this 🙂

  4. I am speechless because this post is totally inspirational. I love how God breaths the perfect words into your blogs. It is always a leap of encouragement. You are so encouraging, beautiful inside and out, and passionate. I love it! 🙂

    Love you,
    Avonlea

Leave a Reply

