Never The Same

“God,” my elder said, as he sent my team and I off in a prayer that morning outside of the church, exactly a year and a day ago. “We know that none of your children here are going to be the same again. They will all be changed in Mexico and different people when they come back.”

It was such a small part of his prayer, but it was what I remembered throughout the rest of our journey, and what I still recall today. On the ride down, I pondered it, thinking of how romantic it sounded, and writing about it in my diary. During my time in Mexico, I sometimes encountered changes that I saw right away but I mostly continued wondering, then about how and when culture shock would kick in. Feeling sad on the ride home, I again remembered my elder’s prayer, and asked God to show me the change. Throughout the rest of the summer I wrestled with my heart as I experienced the growing pains of the change. Now, just over a year later, I see the full extent of the change that Mexico instilled…

I know what it is to fall in love, and to really, truly love and miss someone where I didn’t before.

I understand that people are people wherever you go, while I used to think that everyone was different.

I have come to realize that true wealth is a thing of the heart and not a material possession.

I feel like I am a young woman now, where I used to be a girl.

I’m going away again. This afternoon I will board a plane for a place I’ve never seen before. It is a very different trip than Mexico was–I’ll be acting, singing, and dancing with my peers who are from the same country, and speak the same language. But still, I’ll be learning and growing each day. God is on this trip just as He accompanied me to Mexico, and He is sending me there for a reason, too. Just now I don’t know what that reason is, but I know that it is good, and that I will never be the same again.

I’ll be gone for the next 3 weeks. I’ve put my blog posts on a schedule so you’ll still have something to read. 🙂 I will have internet access where I am which I will use at every opportunity so I’ll be sure to check back here and moderate/reply to comments whenever I can. However, please keep in mind that I will be very busy, and may not have time to reply until I get back (though I will definitely reply then!) Fare thee well and God bless!

7 thoughts on “Never The Same

  1. Godspeed down there in Mexico, Elizabeth! It is incredible how much it seems God has shown you from your trip down there. Perhaps you’re being called back for a very good reason! 🙂

    Have a blessed time and happy Fourth of July from up here en los Estados Unidos! 🙂

    • Muchas Gracias, Kate! I am actually not in Mexico (unfortnately) but at an acting school in another part of the country. I just used the example from Mexico for this blog post because it described the beginning of a trip. 🙂

      Happy fourth of July to you, too!!!

      • XD Totally thought you were, I need to stop reading blogs right before I go to bed. XD

        Anyway, good luck with wherever you’re going, you are such a wonderful spirit, you’ll do great!

  2. God has transformed you into a beautiful young lady. It seems like day and night, but He did it in His own perfect timing.
    I’ll be praying for you, Elizabeth for your trip, safety, for God to use you, and bless your trip. 🙂 I’ll miss you while your gone.

    Love you,
    Avonlea

    P.S. remember that God has called you there for a reason. 🙂

Leave a Reply

