Toss It And Trust

IMG_5350

Image by romaryka via Flickr

I always think I know what is best for me, and so I make plans. For instance, when I was little I planned out exactly how and when my non-believing family members would come to Christ. Now, the dates have passed and not one of them has changed (to my knowledge). All I can say is, so much for my plan.

I’ve gone through my life with other moments like that. I have spent time imagining out exactly what I want to happen, only to see it crumble away. Sometimes I still don’t understand why things happened the way they did. I don’t always understand why the closest of friends seem to hurt me the most, or my dear grandmother had to die or why I had to go through a period of darkness. I never planned these things.

As I speak, there are a bunch of things I’m unsure about, too. I don’t know if the friends I’ve just met will last. I’m not sure if the feelings that I have for people and interests will remain. I don’t know if I’ll go to Mexico again next summer or ever. I’m not sure who I’ll lose this year and how I’ll be disappointed. I can’t plan my future.

But then, the prevailing Voice shouts above the clouds and confusion in my mind. He says, “Trust me, Elizabeth. Just trust and you will be fine.” I’m still scared, but suddenly a beautiful peace fills my soul and I know that even though my hopes have been dashed and I don’t know what the future will bring, my life is not in vain. I can’t plan my future, but He can.

The days ahead of me may be long or short, filled with sadness or joy. I don’t know what is next or where I’m going, but I am not going to worry or be afraid. No, I am going to trust…in the One that knows all things. I am putting my faith in the Love that gave me life. I’ll listen for the Voice and follow His commands. I’m going to toss the plan and trust in Him, because He knows all, and He knows best.

As you may have guessed, I’m back from my trip! I’m sorry to have missed your posts but I promise to start checking again ASAP. I hope you enjoy the following posts which were inspired by what God taught me during my time away.

4 thoughts on “Toss It And Trust

  1. First off, it is so nice to have you back! I missed your blog!

    I can’t believe that your family is non-believing! It’s so rare to find someone like you, who has such wonderful faith, that doesn’t have a family support circle. I don’t know what I would do if my family didn’t believe like I do. I mean, I would still believe, because God has relieved Himself to me in so many other ways, but I applaud you for your great Christianity even if your family doesn’t believe!

    Anyway, magnificent and enlightening post as usual! Have a great Sunday! 🙂

    • Thanks, Kate! Its good to be back! 🙂

      Whoops, I probably should have worded that differently! The majority of my family (this is including extended) are not Christians. My mom, sister, grandma (who died) and I are/were the only Christians. My dad and all of my relatives are not (to my knowledge) believers of God. I used it as an example though because it has been a very hard thing for me that I am still learning to trust God with. I’m not sure what I would have done without a Christian mom though! She was the one that taught me about God, nurtured my faith, and still helps me today!

  2. Yay! I am so excited that you are back. You were missed.

    I love this post. I needed to hear this. I have been praying a lot about my future or the way that I planned things to go in my life. We are human, and God is God. He does things for reasons where we will understand in Heaven, but for the meantime I am going to be that living example trusting in Him every day. It seems like you learned a lot in your faith, and I continue to pray that you will learn more and more.

    Love you!
    Avonlea

    • Thank you, Avonlea! I will try to email soon…I just haven’t been on the computer much with other stuff I’ve been doing. Sorry!

      Keep trusting in God about your future! Its hard (I know) but He really does know best! And always remember that He loves you more than you could imagine and therefore, His plans for you (though they may be difficult to understand) are wonderful!

      Love,
      Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

