The Courage To Dive

If you know how to swim, water shouldn’t be a problem for you. And, If you don’t know how, you can easily learn. Its not really a big deal. After all, children take swimming lessons at an early age, and kids beg their parents to take them to the lake in the summer. Consequently, most people would think it quite unlikely that a teenage girl could be extremely afraid of water.

But the truth is, up until quite recently, I was afraid of water. It wasn’t the deep end or the high dive or the river’s current that scared me. I knew how to swim. No, it was something quite different from that. Something much more than the fear of drowning. I was afraid to get my face wet.

You see, I used to wear make-up. Every morning, I put on a layer of foundation, blush, powder, mascara, and eye-shadow. I covered up zits, redness, and blemishes. I made my cheekbones and eyes stand out. I thought that with the make-up I was finally beautiful, but without it I wasn’t good enough. And so, no one could see me without at least some foundation and powder. No one. Otherwise, they would see the imperfections and blotches and my real face.

Of course, water would expose that real face. If I cried or ran through the rain or swam in a pool it would smear and fall off and then I would be nothing. If I went swimming, I could not be beautiful. So I tried my best to hide behind smiles, closed doors, umbrellas, and excuses.

But that kind of surface happiness only lasts for so long. Just like a powdered face under heavy rain drops, it melts away until there is nothing left. That is where I found myself one day, under the rain with almost none of my happiness left. I believed the lies that Satan told me, and I let them eat away at my soul and security. Those lies tore me to the core though, until I had to cry, I had to get wet, I had to live.

And so, I did. It wasn’t easy but God took me by the hand and showed me that I had the courage, the life, and the value to overcome my fears. So, I washed my face and walked into the world. After I took the mask off, the world became clearer and more beautiful to me. I saw things in a new light and love. I looked at everything and everyone (including myself) with a newfound beauty. Last week, when my friend invited me to go swimming, I said “yes” with a joy and courage, instead of hesitation and fear. I smiled when the waves splashed my face. I let him teach me how to dive because I was not afraid of getting wet. And when I looked at myself in the mirror, I had no shame or sorrow, just a smile.

Is there something in your life that is weighing you down? Please bring it to the Lord today! Remember that nothing is too big for Him! He loves you and He will bring you peace if you ask Him.

6 thoughts on “The Courage To Dive

  1. What a wonderful post! I knew by the title that it was going to be good. I love your posts about being unmasked by God, they’re absolutely lovely.

    I think sometimes we all have something that is weighing us down, holding us back, and it’s always a good idea to take those fears to God!

  2. Wow, I am so encouraged to get rid of my fears. Thank you for taking that bold step of faith and asking for help from God. I am so proud of you. I know that you are more beautiful than ever before. I hope people see your contaginous light that shines for God. Keep clinging to Christ!

    Love you!
    Avonlea

    • Thank you, Avonlea! I hope that you will step up and get rid of your fears, too. Remember that God desires you to come to Him with everything that is troubling you. And do not ever forget that YOU ARE BEAUTIFUL!!!

      Love,
      Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

