Sometimes, I’m Helpless

You might think that I’m a strong person. Maybe I’ve convinced you that I’m fairly optimistic and that I never fail. Perhaps you think that I always find the bright side of life. Well, you’re wrong. I tell the truth about what I think and feel on this blog, but my posts lie about how I am every single minute of the day. I’m not perfect, I am weak, and I fail often. Yes, sometimes I’m helpless.

I can’t always hold my emotions in. I can’t smile and act like everything is alright. I don’t always have the energy to talk and spend time with you. I’m just plain awkward at times. And once in a while, IΒ do need to cry. Because sometimes I’m helpless.

I have the best intentions, but some days the dishes just don’t get washed. I try my hardest but I can’t always be patient, gracious, and loving. If you call me, I may not call back that night or even the next. I can’t always send my assignment in early and get an A. I’m not the best at controlling a class of grade 10’s, I don’t always process what you’re saying when you say it, and I can’t just cry on the dime and experience something that I’ve never experienced. You know, sometimes I’m helpless.

Yeah, there are times when I cry because the pain is too great. I’m not always happy. There are moments where I just have to get my anger out on dirty walls. No, I can’t always be cheerful, sweet, perfect, talented little Elizabeth because sometimes I’m just not that. I’m helpless.

But all is not lost. Yes, I’m still as helpless as ever but by His grace I am saved. It doesn’t matter that I lose my patience and don’t finish my chores, because He has already paid the price. He doesn’t need me to help everyone all the time because that is His job and not mine. He has given me talents and gifts to use for His glory, but He doesn’t ask that I be perfect. He knows that I am helpless on my own because I’m just human. He doesn’t need me to be more. No, He just asks that I follow, trust,Β and believe, and confess my sins when I am wrong.

So that is the real me — humbled, broken, failing, and oh, so helpless but strengthened by His love. I’m not perfect, but He is so flawless. And He is fine with that. In fact, He wants for me, you, and all of us to be the very thing that I’ve confessed. Yes, He asks us to be helpless at His feet so that He may rescue us.

Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.

Matthew 11:28- 29

Please, find your hope in Jesus today!

8 thoughts on “Sometimes, I’m Helpless

  1. Amen sister! I’m helpless too. Today, I just lost it and needed to cry. While I was crying, God really ministered to my soul telling me that it’s okay that I don’t have it all together all the time. I’m weak, and He is strong. Amen for that! I’m glad that I don’t have to be “perfect” all the time because just like you I am full of flaws: human. Thanks for another amazing post!

    • Although I am sorry you were feeling helpless, I’m glad that you let yourself cry. Sometimes we just need to let our tears out. Sometimes crying is what holds us together. I’m so happy that you felt God’s presence! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

