Because He Made Us This Way

This life is like a battle sometimes. Everyday, it’s a constant war between the heart and what influences the mind. The world, our peers, parents, and teachers project to us how we should act, what we should say, how we must dress, and who we should become. But how do we decide which act wins the show? What are we supposed to do? Who are we to be?

I’ve often thought that the people around me should win the show for how I live my life. Many times, I’ve made my decisions based on what other people did, said, or wanted. They weren’t major decisions; just things like where we would eat or what I would wear. But the truth is that they weren’t me. I wasn’t being who I was supposed to be when I followed the crowd. Yes, it’s good to put others first and fine to ask for advice, but there is a point where we take it too far…a place where we let go of who we are and instead feel ashamed of it.

In the past few months, I’ve realized something: I am different from any other person I have ever met. My hair is long, thick and brown with lots of highlights. I’ve always done my school at home and I like it that way. I love to wear bows and flowers in my hair and skirts and purple. I think that theatre is a beautiful thing. I used to forget that person existed. I often thought that I was weird, boring, and awkward. I was once unconsciously ashamed to be this person — until I realized that He made me this way and He thinks that it is wonderful.

This past weekend, I visited my prospective university and had an amazing experience. Among many things, I realized that this life that God has given us is so varied, interesting, and beautiful. We all have different passions and desires but we’re all people, striving to become, looking to serve, and longing to be loved. And it doesn’t matter if we plan to study acting or chemistry, nursing or art — God has given us those passions for a specific purpose. There is a plan. We are here for a reason. Our personalities, and skills, hopes and dreams were given by God with something very special in mind.

Do not be ashamed of the life or love that God has given you. Yes, listen to others and especially, God. Cultivate your talent too and learn from your mistakes. Just don’t be ashamed of who you are and what you love to do. For He made us this way and there is no shame in that.

I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.

Psalm 139:14

6 thoughts on “Because He Made Us This Way

    • Why thank you, Mrs. Mayor! It’s fun to see all of my characters and characters’ friends reuniting on this blog. I have to say that I’m not sure who you are though (and I think that you might have stolen my name!) LOL. Good to hear from you though. 🙂

  1. You’re so beautiful. 🙂 I love learning more about what God is teaching you. I’m actually learning some-what the same thing in my English class right now. Our identity should not be broken up into pieces, and that we should not be ashamed of who we are. I’m glad that you are confident with the body God gave you, and the person you are growing into. You are simply beautiful woman of God. Keep shinning for Christ!

    Love you!

  2. ❤ Elizabeth, this is a great post. We ARE different from one another in perfectly imperfect ways. It's never something to be ashamed over: clearly, God still loves us, or I don't think we would be around. 🙂

Leave a Reply

