Part 2: Trust Vs. Desire

This is the second post in a three-part series on trusting God and putting our desires aside. To read the first part, click here.

Trust. It’s a five letter word yet it seems to be one of the hardest things for me to do. I’m not sure why, but trusting God with my life is often something that I either completely forget about or decide not to do because I think that my way is best.

I’m also the type of person who has a lot of desires in life. I guess we all do. Unfortunately, zero trust and %100 desire just leads to a plain disaster–its like eating a piece of raw meat.

For example, once I had a good friend and a strong desire to tell him something. I knew in my heart that I should wait to tell him, if I was ever to tell him at all. However, I flirted with desire and enjoyed it’s pleasure so much that when the opportunity came, I chose desire over trust. What did I reap? A broken friendship, pressure, stress, and disappointment. It was like biting into a burger that I thought was a steak.

You see, our desire isn’t necessarily God’s desire for our life. It might seem good at the time being but it doesn’t give you that lasting pleasure that you crave deep down. It’s like different kinds of foods–we all know that a well-made steak is the best choice of meat and that a McDonalds burger is hardly healthy or satisfactory. However, just like trust the steak takes more time, energy, and patience to cultivate while the burger gives instant pleasure, as giving into desire does.

More recently, I almost gave into desire again rather than trust. I chose to listen to a conversation between two friends that I thought would satisfy my craving. God told me that I should walk away but instead, I gave into my desire and listened. This cultivated further desire and I almost said something that I would have regretted later–just because I wanted it and was too impatient to listen to God. Thankfully, God won over and I trusted Him with my desire. The result? Restoration, peace, forgiveness, and happiness. I got to eat the best steak instead of that raw burger.

So, in the battle between trust and desire, I encourage you to choose trust every time. It might seem more tedious like the time it takes to chew a piece of steak. Or perhaps you don’t want to go through the “cooking” process that builds trust. However, I promise that like a steak is to a burger, offering God your trust is much more satisfactory than giving into desire.

4 thoughts on “Part 2: Trust Vs. Desire

  1. Is it wrong that this post made me hungry?! Haha. This article is really spot-on and I loved the comparisons to food. . .reminds me of exercise. To control my dysautonomia and my heart problems, I have to drink tons of water, eat lots of salt, and exercise as much as possible…just like I really don’t WANT to get up and go do sit ups or go for a run, it’s better for me in the long run: like trust!

    • Don’t worry — I started to majorly crave burgers while I was writing this! LOL. It was kind of ironic since the point of this post was to strive for “the steak” and not just burgers. And I like your comparison. It is so true because trust is often a grueling task (just like those sit ups) but in the end its much better for you. 🙂

  2. God is good all the time! I’m glad you did a mini three part series of this. Trust is hard,and desire takes over…but hope in the Lord and He will win. 🙂 Amen!

    Love you!

Leave a Reply

