Another Chapter

One year ago today, I wrote my first chapter on this blog. As I think on it now, I wonder how it can only be a year for it seems so very much longer. Then again, how could it be that long ago when I remember it as clear as if it were yesterday.

It was my mom’s idea to start a blog. She mentioned it to me while we were in the car one time. I had always loved to write and because of some recent disappointments and griefs, I was looking for new things to occupy my time. Anyway, I liked the idea a lot and two days later, this blog was born. 

When I look back on that first chapter, I see a lot of things. There are the spelling mistakes and grammatical errors that make me cringe a bit. I smile at some of the clichés and ways I worded sentances. I quiver a bit at the grief that was locked behind the words and wonder at the change that has happened since then. My heart laughs at the longing for the later chapters, knowing now what those chapters have indeed been and are today. 

This blog has been a wonderful place for me to share my heart, learn about God, and grow as a person. I have been so encouraged by the various comments and people who I’ve met along the way. I am amazed that God has given me so much to say through 85 random clusters of words that He has crafted together to form something you read. It has been a beautiful journey so far and just one chapter on the road home. Thank you for being a part of it so far.

Here goes another chapter of this blog!

PS I apologize for my lack of response over this month and this past week in particular. As you may know from my posts, I have been very busy with my show. Since that is over now I will get back to my usual replying to comments and reading of your blogs. Thank you for reading faithfully though!

8 thoughts on “Another Chapter

  1. Dear Elizabeth,
    I am so glad I “met you” and started reading your blog.
    I don’t think you realize in full how much your blog is appreciated, not just by the people who comment, but the many others, the “silent” visitors. I hope you will continue to write, and I wanted to personally thank you for writing about what you do. It is very encouraging for me personally, as I have no doubt it is to others as well.
    Have a very Merry Christmas!
    Sarah

    • Sarah,

      I have loved “getting to know” you in this past year. Although I haven’t officially met you since we were really little, your beauty and loveliness shines through your comments and emails and I count you as a great friend. I am so happy that we have been able to meet in this way. You have been a true blessing in my life here and in our other conversations, too.

      I am thrilled to hear that this blog has been an encouragement. That is what I meant for it to be. God is truly amazing!

      Love, blessings and a Merry Christmas to you!
      Elizabeth

      PS Thank you so much for your encouragement towards my writing! Right from the beginning you have always been there to encourage me to write more. You have been a huge blessing! 🙂

  2. I am so glad that I found your site and that you write, Elizabeth. A God-given gift, really. Your posts are inspirational, well thought out, and not your typical Christian blog. You look at things from all different perspectives and incorporate our faith into your blog. I always smile when I get RSS alerts from your posts–you never cease to put a smile on my face!

  3. I have been very blessed this last year reading about your trails and how God has made you victorious through each one. I love your heart, and God has given you this wonderful gift of sharing and encouragement others. I have been inspired to be a better person, and I am glad that we have become friends and sisters in Christ. I pray that you will continue to write! 🙂

    May God continue to use you! 🙂

    Love you Girlie!

    • Thank you for your encouraging words, Avonlea! I am so glad to have gotten to know you over this past year. I love reading your blog and you are always so motivational and sweet in your comments. You are a beautiful friend and sister!

      Love,
      Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

