Jesus At The Clinic

“Do you have ID with you?” the woman at the front desk asked.

“Y-yes,” I answered, fumbling in my wallet for my driver’s licence.

As she recorded my information on the computer, I looked at the pamphlet in front of me. It was full of questions about disease and medicines and instructions for the procedure. I really did read it, but everything happened so fast that I soon forgot. I glanced back at Holly and Daragh and we smiled at each other, knowingly.

A few more desks and interviewers and a thousand questions later, I was seated on a dentist-like chair, with my arm strapped to a bunch of tubes and cords that I tried to figure out. “Remember to keep clenching your fist,” the kind nurse reminded. I pulled my fingers in and out and in and out again and again. I tried to read my book, but I never got past the first page.

“What will it feel like? Will it hurt? Will I faint?”

And then suddenly, I heard a song. His body the bread…His blood the wine… broken and torn out all for love. And the whole earth trembled and the veil was torn. Love so amazing. Love so amazing. And I remembered — I’m not the only one who gave blood before.

No, there was another. Quite another, He was. He gave it while strapped to a tough, rugged cross while I just sat on this medical-bed-type thing. His hands were nailed to the wood and His body bled. There was a scar in His side. My blood would just flow neatly from my vein into the tube. And while I gave my blood to save one earthly life, He gave to save the world from eternal death.

“If you don’t want to look, now would be the time to turn away,” the nurse said, rubbing that liquidy stuff onto my arm.

I turned my head but I smiled. I smiled at my friend and sister who waited for me. I smiled at the other people waiting to give blood. I smiled at the thought of Jesus, my own blood donor.

I’ve had a stressful week, sleepless nights, and some questions for God. I’ve wondered a lot and cried a bit. I’ve searched, but I never thought I’d find Him at a blood donor clinic. I guess that’s because Jesus is everywhere, always willing to give us His blood.

12 thoughts on “Jesus At The Clinic

  1. This has to be one of your best posts ever! What a great thought. I’ve never given blood–actually, I’m anemic and vitamin D deficient, so I’m not eligible–but I’ve had quite a few blood tests and IV’s, as I’m sure that I will in the future. Still, what a beautiful thought and a true statement: Jesus really is our own blood donor, someone ever willing to help us out. Great post!

  2. It would be very hard to give blood. Once I went with my dad when he gave blood and watching him give blood made me very sick to my stomach. I’m glad that you are able to do this helpful thing for many people. :-)

  3. This something that truly touched my heart. I have been a blood donor for about four years. I remember the first time I went was in my high school gym. I remember thinking to myself “God, you’re here, right?” I have never been scared of needles or anything just was really scared of not passing the iron test. Well I passed even though I am anemic. God was holding my hand through it all. I love giving blood because I know (just as you have discovered) that Our Abba is the univerisal blood donor. He saves lives.

    Congrats on officially donating! I pray that you can continue giving, and remember God loves you so much!

    Love you!
    Avonlea

    • Aw, I am so happy!

      Wow, that is amazing that you were able to donate! God is awesome! Ya, that’s actually the same with me…I wasn’t really that nervous about the needle per se…I just really wanted to be eligeble! I was a little worried about passing out, though I don’t know why since that has never happened. And yeah, giving blood is awesome! I really hope that I can keep doing it! Good for you for donating! That is wonderful. :)

      Love,
      Elizabeth

  4. Wow! You are a very talented writer! I loved reading this.

    I found your blog through Gods Girlz blog. (:

    I’m having a giveaway & would love for you to enter
    Southernpinky.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

