Because Life Isn’t A Storybook

The path of life is a strange one. It really is. For the first ten years or so, it was mundane, regular, and happy. Nothing new or strange ever really happened. Then there was a shift. It was a slight one at first, though it rocked my little world. After that, it was just one shift after another until you find me at this place — shifted, a bit older, not much wiser and utterly confused.

People say that the books I love like “Jane Eyre” and “Wuthering Heights” are overly dramatic and unreal. I used to agree since I’d never been a governess who was almost tricked into marrying a married man or a girl who seemed to go crazy when her childhood friend left. But now I strongly disagree with those people. Life is strange. It is odd, unexpected, and downright crazy. Life is not like a sweet little child’s story-book. No, it’s more like one of those old gothic romance novels.

But don’t call me an expert on life because of that. No, I’m far from knowing it all or even much. The more twists and the more turns in life, the more I learn. Yet, the more I am changed and the more I grow and become myself, the less I seem to know about it all. The old promises, strong-held ideals, and whimsical dreams are thrown out the door and I wonder who I am and what I am doing and what life really is about.Β 

When I was little, I wanted toΒ breed horses and teach riding. Now, I haven’t even touched a horse in almost five years. About six months ago, I held ideals and made promises about how to conduct myself properly. Today, my opinion has changed and I am going against some of those old “morals.”I thought that I would go to university in September, but now I’m considering waiting until January or doing something totally different. I’ve yearned to go back to Mexico since my first trip, but as another one approaches I’m leaning towards the possibility of not going. I expected this month to be dull as the first month of the year usually is for me. Instead, it’s rained with joy and sorrow, excitement and confusion.

Life is unexpected. You can’t plan for anything. You can hope, but even those hopes will eventually change. Life changes. It is odd, surprising, and just, plain crazy. And it sure isn’t a nice, little storybook.

One thing that I cannot forget is God. My faith has been tested and the answers are true. I know that although I change quicker than the seasons in the year, He never does. I believe in Him. I trust His judgement. Well, I guess I am learning to trust it. I am coming to understand that He has crazy plans for my life. I am realizing that they are plans I cannot see or know right now or ever, yet they are good, wonderful, and right plans.

Yes, life is confusing and crazy but God is good.

10 thoughts on “Because Life Isn’t A Storybook

  1. Sad truth that life isn’t a storybook. I have come to the realization that this life needs more happiness and joy. Celebrating each moment that life brings us. And if you are ever sick, have a broken heart, or feeling sad just remember that you are human and God will be your knight and shinning armor. Keep blogging! πŸ™‚

    Love you!
    Avonlea

  2. Excellent post. You say what is on everybody’s minds, Elizabeth! I used to feel like life was…well, not as exciting as they made it to be in the stories, in the books, in the movies, too: but it changed. I realized that there are heroes and villains and things that go bump in the night, and that it’s exciting and shockingly real. I learned that because God exists, so does evil: that there must be a balance. I’ve met superheros, people who have walked through hell…and it’s only getting started.

    As far as your plans on what to do, on the next twist in the road: waiting for university or not, etc…go for it! Follow your heart. You’re very bright and I do think you’d do well in university, so don’t ‘cancel’ it, but maybe look into something alternative? You could do all online classes the first semester and go travelling, or you could do a semester abroad (one of my best friends is studying in Manchester next semester–gosh, with all your mentions of English literature, you should go!). . .I mean, so many options. πŸ™‚

    Also…the first picture of this post…I love your boots! You’re stylish. πŸ™‚

    • Aw, really? That’s cool. I love your descriptions of life with heroes and villains. It is so true.

      And thank you for your encouraging words! You just made my day again (so now my day has been made twice which is totally amazing! :)). I’m not really cancelling university…just postponing it. Most people don’t/won’t understand, as I don’t even understand fully myself. All of the stuff that I had to do and figure out before hand was just driving me crazy and after talking to my mom about it today, we decided to put it off at least until January. You’ve reminded me that there ARE other options. I know that I want my degree someday, somehow. Perhaps it just won’t be in the way that I expected it. Actually, I know that it won’t happen that way! I’m still going to try though. And yes, I do LOVE literature. Hmm, I guess we’ll just see what happens. πŸ™‚

      Thanks! Boots are one of my favourite things to wear in the winter. πŸ™‚

  3. Hi Elizabeth,
    What a great post!!
    I too have changed greatly in the past 5 or so years, but the most has changed in the past 2 years, and it’s funny to stop and look back at all that’s happened. Your continuing positivity in regards to your future always inspires me. Keep it up! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you, Sarah!!!

      Life is just so crazy, isn’t it? Sorry but I really cannot get over that fact right now! Well, I’m looking forward to seeing what God has in store (for both of us). I know it will be amazing! I’m feeling better by the minute about my plan and a lot freer. Thank you for your lovely comment…you are a huge blessing! πŸ™‚

      Love,
      Elizabeth

  4. Oh Elizabeth, I totally understand! I’ve changed my plans and had them changed so many times the past several years! Everything is constantly changing, and I seem completely incapable of doing anything about it. So I wait for tomorrow, and seek the Lord. πŸ™‚

    Hugs,
    In Christ,
    Sheila

    • Thank you, Sheila! It is so encouraging to hear from people who have walked down/are walking the same road. I thought of you yesterday after we’d made the decision, knowing that you are going through a similar thing. God is amazing though and I am confident that He has awesome plans for both of us this year! πŸ™‚

      Love,
      Elizabeth

  5. When I was little there was so much things that I wanted to do. Like when I was 10 I wanted to start my own Christian band. I was thinking up names for it and everything.

Leave a Reply

