The Passion

Ever since I can remember, I have loved to act. From the time I learned to read, I was reading everything aloud with different “character” voices. One of my favourite childhood past times was acting out cherished stories with my sister. I even turned home school PE class into theatre time with the other girls. Let the boys play hockey! I thought. Acting is much more fun!

At eight-years-old, all of the trouble I got into for skipping PE class paid off. I got to be in a play! It was a real, live musical in a big theatre with a bunch of other kids. And I got one line! I enjoyed those first ten months of rehearsing like nothing else. I was thrilled. Everyday, I practiced like crazy in the living room. I loved everything from the read throughs to the beautiful, purple dress with puffed sleeves that I got to wear. After the first show, I told my mom, “I could do this a thousand more times!”

Now, almost ten years later, I love theatre with the same passion. Although I’m not as energetic as I was at eight, the love inside of my has not died. No matter how many hobbies and interests I start and give up, theatre remains on my schedule. Despite the busyness of life, I always find the time to learn my lines. Because nothing gives me the same thrill as being on stage does.

Sometimes, I try to crush this passion. Don’t ask me why. It’s a strange thing that I do. I guess there is this fear that I’m not good enough. There’s a worry that this isn’t right. Of late, I’ve often wondered what kind of place acting will have in my life after highschool. I’ve heard the term starving artist and I’m not so sure that I want to be one. I’d like to travel, but I don’t know if I want to make that my life. Most of all, I know what the entertainment world promotes and I know that it is not for me. I can’t and I won’t compromise myself or my values. So where does that leave me?

I have to say that some days I’m downright confused about it all. There have even been times in my life where I’ve given up. In the end, I find my love again because there is nothing like the thrill of doing a scene. I can’t think of any other place I’d rather be than on the stage. When I say the lines and they become my own words and I am the character and it all seems real, I feel so happy. It’s like I’m flying. It is amazing.

“God gave you this gift.”

“You should be an actress, Elizabeth.”

“He isΒ going to use you so much in acting. He already is.”

“You could be an actress if you wanted to.”

I hear these voices. I feel these feelings. Is it God or is it me? Is it the truth or my imagination?

I don’t know the future. I’m not really sure what God wants from me yet. All I know is that He has given me a passion for theatre. So I’m just going to pray and wait and act. I know He’ll show me what to do when the time is right. Yes, let’s just wait and see. Maybe I will do it a thousand more times yet!

6 thoughts on “The Passion

  1. I really enjoy acting too! I don’t think that is what God wants me to do with my life, but it is something I will always enjoy doing. πŸ™‚

  2. I am so amazed by you. You think so complex with a humble heart. I will be praying that God will use you in ways that glorify Him and that He will grant you direction for your life. God always comes through. Just be patient but know that if your heart is pulling you toward it then maybe try giving it a shot. He will guide through the rest. πŸ™‚

  3. I love this post, Liz! You are incredibly passionate person and just judging from your writing, you must be an amazing actress. God has quite a lot in store for you! How exciting.

    I used to act a lot–theatre, some TV, and even a little modeling–before I started having heart trouble. I went to Mayo Clinic and found out a lot about my health, came back, and I switched to an independent study school program from my arts school. I came to realize that even though I adored acting and using my words and my body and myself in general to portray a wide variety of people and emotions–it is a wonderful feeling to be on that stage–and, in all honesty, I did enjoy the spotlight. But I hung up my stage shoes and took my exit. My soul is in writing and in politics, and sometimes, my acting couldn’t portray the fire inside of me quite right. I still love it, though, and I’ll always have fond memories of it. God takes us down amazing paths in our lives and no matter what, we’ll never be bored. He is calling you to so many great things, both in acting and writing and life in general!

    • Aw, thanks so much, Kate! πŸ˜‰

      That’s neat that you used to act. Sounds like you had quite the career! I’ve never done television or modeling — just theatre (and that’s what I love). I bet you were an amazing actress, but it sounds like you’ve definitely found your place (for now) and that is wonderful. Keep on going with what you’re doing…I think you have an amazing future ahead of you. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

