Tag, I’m It!

A couple of days ago, I was tagged by my friends, Kaleigh and Anna, at Facing The Waves. They write about life as highschool/college students and growing your relationship in Christ, among other things. Please check out their blog if you haven’t already. It’s always an uplifting read! And thanks girls for tagging me!

The Rules:

1. Post the rules

2. Post 11 random things about yourself (optional):

3. Answer the questions the tagger posted for you in their post.

4. Create 11 new questions for the people you’ve tagged to answer.

5. Go to their blog and tell them that they’ve been tagged.

Now, for the random things:

1. My sister and I recently came to the conclusion (today, in fact) that I am a very obsessive person. Don’t be creeped out by this fact…it’s simply a true fact about me! I used to get really obsessed with certain people, especially favourite teachers. Sometimes it’s been a favourite TV show (Little House On The Prairie), or a favourite book (Jane Eyre, Mandie, Anne of Green Gables…I read them over and over and over…). Now, I usually just obsess over things I love to do. Currently, I am obsessed with learning Spanish!

Books — one of my biggest obsessions in life.

2. My house-building trip to Mexico in 2010 was one of the best things that ever happened to me. It changed my life and the person that I am in a million ways. I cannot wait to go back!

3. I must say that I personally LOVE peanut butter. I’ve also been obsessed over that many times. (Kaleigh, how could you say it isn’t your favourite food? Ahhh!)

4. I love to write. Actually, I’m a little obsessed with that, too. It’s always been my dream to be a published novelist.

A writer at work.

Writing in my diary.

5. Horse radish is awesome. I like it on roast beef, ham, turkey, burger…or plain. Yes, plain! Well, the first time I had it I thought it was pudding so I started eating it with a spoon…

6. I spent the first 16 years of my life as an introvert, but now in my 17th I believe that I am (strangely) turning into an extrovert. It’s really weird! There’s still nothing like a good book on a rainy night though.

7. I love tea! I drink it 2-3 times a day! I gave it up for Lent this year. It was very difficult, but I also learned a lot.

8. I love to cook and bake!

Decorating cookies that I made.

9. My knees are really bruised from three random things: 1. a childhood of cherishing dirt and scrapes 2. being thrown into the lake by some crazy friends one summer and 3. falling down a hill in Mexico when I was really excited over the fact that there was more paint.

10. I ate all of my Easter chocolate in just two days.

11. I am short and I love it!!!

The Questions:

  1. Do you like your Mac or PC? Why?

I love my PC! I don’t really have a reason, I just love it. I don’t know much about computers…I just was really happy to get my own laptop for my 16th birthday (Thanks to my grandma!) and let my tech savvy Uncle pick out the best one for me. Almost 2 years later, my PC is still serving my needs and hasn’t had any major problems.

2. Do you like to listen to music when studying? If so, what kind?

Yes, sometimes. I haven’t done this a lot and I can’t do it when I need to really focus. However, if I’m just colouring a map for Civilizations or choosing pictures for a History powerpoint, then I do enjoy some music. Last time I did this, I listened to Brandon Heath‘s album, “Leaving Eden.” I also enjoy other contemporary Christian artists like Amanda Falk, Sara Groves, and Casting Crowns or musical theatre soundtracks.

3. Do you play any instruments? If so, which ones?

Yes, I play the piano.

Playing the piano!

4. Can you describe each of your siblings personality/character? (doesn’t have to be a long answer ;))

Well, I have one sister. She is younger by two years, but she often acts like my older sister (and some people even think that she is!) She can be kind of silly though, too. My sister constantly teases and life is never boring with her around! We have so many fun inside jokes together. It’s awesome! She’s fantastic!!!

My sis and me.

5. What do you like about our blog?

Well, for one thing, you girls are lovely. Kaleigh and I have been really good friends for a long time so obviously I love a blog written by her! But it’s also been great to get to know Anna a bit, too. In addition to that, I always find your blog encouraging and uplifting. Your topics are often quite relavent to my life and sometimes they just “hit that spot.” It’s amazing how I’ll be thinking of something and then I’ll read about it on your blog! Great job, girls! Keep blogging!

6. What’s your favorite color and why do you like it?

Purple is definitely my favourite colour. It always has been and it always will be. I just find is so beautiful! Plus, you can get it in so many different shades that it is never a boring colour. It is also a colour that makes me feel good (when I wear it).

7. What book besides the Bible has changed you spiritually in some way?

Hmm….that is tough. Besides the Bible, I don’t think a book has ever really changed me spiritually. Some books that have helped me in areas of my Christian life would be: “The Purity Code” by Jim Burns (it helped me relate to the opposite gender in a positive, Christ-like way), “Redefining Beautiful” by Jenna Lucado (it helped me see my worth and identity in Christ), “Quivering Daughters” by Hillary McFarland (although my wounds in this area are in no way as deep as the author’s, this book showed me just how scary and horrible “Christian” legalism is), and “Jane Eyre’’ by Charlotte Bronte (Sorry, but I just had to put this on the list! Not only is it my favourite fiction novel, but it did influence my morals because it challenged them with a character who struggled but in the end, held stronger morals than I did while reading the book). Anyway, these were all some spiritually defining books for me. I can’t say that they would still have the same impact on me today or that you would find them as helpful, but they did that for me at one point in my life.

Reading “Jane Eyre.”

8. What books of the Bible do you tend to read from the most?

Um, this is kind of awkward, but I’ve probably read Song of Solomon the most from start to finish. It’s only eight chapters and I just find it so addicting once I get started that I can’t stop. Plus, my friend and I get a kick out of all the language of the time! I also go back to Corinthians, Romans, and Phillippians a lot because I find some of the most encouraging and helpful passages there.

9. In what way have you grown the most spiritually in the past year?

I think I’ve really learned to trust God. A year ago, I had just recently gotten out of a tough spot of pain, hurt, grief, and depression. I was still in the early stages of trust, joy, and a renewed hope in Christ. I wore half a pound of make-up on my face because I didn’t feel beautiful enough. I worried about getting through school and what I was going to do with my life after. I worried about everything, really. I still cried sometimes and felt the pain. I wondered if I would ever find happiness.

Over the past year, I’ve learned to let go of my insecurities, worries, and pain. It was hard to figure out at first. In the end, I realized that the only thing to do is trust. Trust that it will be alright. Trust that you’ll make it through. Trust in love and God. Trust that He knows best.

10. Who is your favorite Bible character? Why?

Do I have to choose just ONE? May I please to do two? C’mon I said “may” and “please”? Okay, thanks!

Well, besides Jesus, I love his mother, Mary. A couple of years back, I portrayed her in some monologues for an Advent series at our church. Wow, that was an amazing experience!!! I’d always kind of just brushed over Mary a “part of the Christmas story” but she is so much more. Her perservearance, committment, and amazing and undying trust in the Lord are awing traits. I often think of what she had to do and wonder if I would have done the same thing. I honestly don’t know if I would have been as brave as she was. But she is a big inspiration to me and I constantly strive to grow a faith and trust in Jesus like she had.

My other favourite character is Paul. I’ve just always liked his story of coming to faith and I find his writing very good and encouraging. Just the other day, I was very encouraged by his words on marriage. I realized that it’s okay to be single! It really is! Alright, I know that is kind of weird thing for a 17-year-old girl to randomly write on her blog. It’s not like I’ve had a lot of struggles in the area of singleness. However, I do find that a huge emphasis is placed on marriage (within the church) and it can be a little overwhelming. Especially for girls, it’s marriage this, marriage that, when you get married, at your wedding etc. While marriage is wonderful and designed by God for a beautiful purpose, and although it is definitely at the top of my list of dreams, Paul’s words on this really set me free the other day. I guess I realized that it’s OK to be whatever God has given you the purpose to be.

11. What event/circumstance made your favorite Bible verse(s) “favorite”?

Again, do I have to choose just ONE? I have so many! Ahhh!

Okay, well one of my favourite verses is Joshua 1:9…Therefore be strong and courageous. Do not be discouraged, do not be terrified, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go. This verse means a lot to me because I read it on my first morning in Mexico. I was feeling EXACTLY like the Isrealites….terrified and discouraged. However, when I read that verse and the rest of that chapter, I was uplifted. I felt like I could do the tasks that God had for me in Mexico. I felt like I could be strong and courageous, for I knew that God would never leave me.

And, I must share this one, too…Phillippians 4:13…I can do everything through Christ who strengthens me. Over the last few months, I’ve been plagued again by discouragement. However, my wonderful friend Kaleigh has constantly reminded me of this verse and that God is never going to let go.

One of my favourite verses, Joshua 1:9.

Thanks again to Kaleigh and Anna for tagging me! That was fun!

Okay, so I guess I need to come up with my questions now. Let’s see…

1. Why did you start blogging?

2. Are you excited for summer? Why or why not?

3. What would you like to see more of on my blog? What kind of posts are your favourite?

4. Do you know a second language? If so, which one?

5. What has God been teaching you lately?

6. How would you describe the perfect day?

7. Would you like to travel (now or in the future)? If yes, where would you go?

8. What is your favourite book of the bible and why?

9. Are you short, tall or average? What do you like and dislike about your height?

10. Do you think coffee or tea is better? Or do you like either? Why?

11. What are your plans for the future?

I tag:

Avonlea

Godzgirl

Jessica

Kaleigh and Anna (if you want to do it again, that is!)

Kate

Sarah

13 thoughts on “Tag, I’m It!

  1. Your answer for #9 is really wonderful. 🙂 Totally know what you mean.

    And ooh, I’m tagged? Good. Gives me something to spit out as a post before finals. 😉

  2. Hi Elizabeth!
    I decided I was just going to answer your questions here in a post, since I already have my posts scheduled for the next week or so, and I’ll probably forget.

    1. {Why did you start blogging?}
    I wanted to start a magazine for teen girls, but realized it was WAY too much money and work. So my mom suggested I started a blog.
    2.{Are you excited for summer?}
    Yes! I get to see my bff!
    3.{What would you like to see more of on my blog? What kind of posts are your favourite?}
    IDK. They all are good.
    4.{Do you know a second language? If so, which one?}
    Nope, but I’m learning Spanish next year. Whoot, Whoot!
    5.{What has God been teaching you lately?}
    patience
    6.{How would you describe a perfect day?}
    Sleep in, have a big breakfast with waffles, spend the day with my bff, watch a suspenseful, scarry movie, stay up late!
    7.{Would you like to travel (now or in the future)? If yes, where would you go?}
    Australia!
    8.{What is your favourite book of the bible and why?}
    I like Ruth and Esther, because it shows the bravery of the two women.
    10.{Do you think coffee or tea is better? Or do you like either? Why?}
    I don’t like either now, but I want to like coffee.
    11.{What are your plans for the future}
    Ooo.. This is a hard one. Well, I want to be a sucessful photographer and accountant. Be married and have lots of kids. (:

    Thanks for tagging me Elizabeth!

Leave a Reply

