My Calling Is Christ

My final year of highschool is coming to a close and everyday, I wonder what is next. Technically, its various jobs, university, and a career of some kind. But at the moment these are just muddy ideas and foggy dreams. I don’t know what my calling is yet.

Constantly, people ask me what my plan for next year is and what I want to do with my life. Easily, I can answer the first. The second is a lot harder. How could I even guess my calling at seventeen?

When I think about it, there are so many things I could be and do. The trouble is, finding the one that is right. The calling isn’t just any random thing.

When I’m at school, helping my Spanish teacher, I think of having a classroom of my own. I imagine how fun it would be and I walk home thinking that education is my calling.

At a totally different time, I watch a mom with her child at the park and think of how wonderful kids are. I remember my early days of being homeschooled and how much fun we had. For a moment, I wonder if staying at home with my future children could be my calling.

Every time I think about Mexico, I miss it. I dream of going back there or traveling to some other place. I wonder…am I called to the mission field?

And then there is acting. Somehow, even though I know it isn’t the kind of life style I want, I cannot let go of that dream that I have. I insist on getting my degree in acting and won’t make any other plans because of the possibility of fame. Is acting my calling?

Each day, I think about all of these things and pray that God will reveal Himself to me. Sometimes I even get angry about it. I cry out to Him and ask, God why won’t you just give me your calling?!?!”

And then I realize that He already has. No, it’s not a secret and it never has been. My calling has come already. It is to live as Jesus did. It is to love with the love of God. I am here to serve, to encourage, to display Jesus. My calling is Christ.

Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not men.

Colossians 3:23

10 thoughts on “My Calling Is Christ

  1. I loved this as it is very relevant to what I am going through now .I am still at school but am struggling to hear a calling from god .I sometimes want to be a stay at home mum then a lawyer then a calling to the church . I loved this post

    • Thanks for the comment, Emily! Keeping listening for God — He will show you in His time. I honestly believe that God shows us things in a more gradual way rather than in one big message. Eventually, you will know where your place is. But if you’re ever feeling lost (or even if you’re not), just remember that Christ and His work is always your highest calling. I think that once we realize this and do it, everything else we be revealed because only what is of God will be right for us. :)

  2. Wonderful thoughts. People say you can be anything you want to be, but that doesn’t always help does it? I still don’t know what God has for me, although right now I know it’s being a stay at home mom. Different seasons in your life might call for different things. Sometimes it takes just listening to God to where He wants you next. But I, like you, still have so many dreams in my heart. So many I don’t know if they ever will be fulfilled. Sometimes it seems there is no way…so I let them die and give them to Jesus and see what He will bring to life in my life.

    • Nope, it doesn’t…

      But your words definitely help. I usually expect people like you, who have “grown up,” gotten married, and have had a child or started a career to say, “I figured it all out. It just takes time.” Or something like that, which doesn’t really help either. Thank you for sharing that you still don’t know what God has for you. It’s a great reminder that really, we never do know what He has in store! I love what you said about seasons — that is so true. I often get stuck on the “one idea” thing and think “Oh, well, I can never do anything else now!” but that is not true at all.

      Keep on dreaming and being who you are…you are so encouraging. :)

  3. Great post! I read somewhere the other days that most people spend their lives figuring out what God’s plan for their life is instead of obeying what God wants for your life here and now. I am so blessed to read that you have figured out that loving is what we are called to do. Again awesome post!

    Love you!

Leave a Reply

