These Days

These days, I wake up early and stay up late. Sometimes I don’t wake up to the alarm though. These days, I work hard all day on the last assignments of Grade 12. I’m not always as diligent as I should be and sometimes I’m just downright discouraged. These days, I take breaks in the middle of the day to bake biscuits for lunch and cookies for tea. This is my life these days.

These days, I ponder on yesterday. I look at pictures from grad and thank God for the beautiful memories. I remember days gone by. I think about the friends that I have now and how I am so very thankful for them. These days, I look back and smile.

These days, life is going by quickly. I can’t believe the year  is almost over. These days, God is teaching me to wait, trust, and have joy no matter what. Sometimes it is tough, but it is always worth it. These days are full of surrender, learning, and getting up again.

These days, I’m wondering what the future holds. I’ve been accepted into university and it’s almost, finally, sort of sunk in that I’m really going. These days, I think about how to pay for everything, what my professors will be like, and who I’ll meet. These days, I imagine what on earth I’ll be come after university. I think about teaching, acting, writing. These days, I wonder where my life is going.

These days, I thank God for everything. Because these are the days for laughter, love, and joy. These are the days He has given me to be seventeen. These are the days of friendship, success, and adventure. But these days are short, for I will never have these days again.

What is your life like these days?

4 thoughts on “These Days

  1. First off–gorgeous pictures! Did you bake that cookie/biscuit/delicious looking item? And your grad dress is beautiful!

    Liz, you are going to LOVE university–trust me when I say that. You’re going to be a blessing to be in a classroom with. You are smart and beautiful and fabulously confident, but most of all, you have no problem being an inspiration and shining star. A few tips I might add: check out professors on this site called Rate My Professor (google it) before you sign up for their class. You have options in college–if you want a professor who engages the class in discussion and has lively lectures, look for reviews that say that. 🙂

    These days, for me, are also full of surrender and getting back up again, as well as uncertainty. But they’re full of promise, too!

    • Thank you, Kate! Your comment gave me a huge smile. 🙂

      Yes, I did bake that cookie. I love to bake! And thank you! I love my grad dress, too — a friend of ours made it. She did a wonderful job!

      Thank you so much for your encouraging words! I am looking forward to university. I think it will be both fun and interesting. 🙂 Thanks for the tips, too.

      Yes, these days are full of promise, aren’t they? Promise because of Jesus! 🙂

  2. Great post, Liz! Some of your life activities are similar to mine! 😀 It feels like life is going so quickly! Yet, I have enjoyed being 17 and I wish it would stay a little longer (in some ways). 😉

    • Thanks, Kale! Ahhh, I know what you mean about being 17 for longer. At the same time, I’m glad that God does let us move on. Life would be awfully dull if we were 17 forever! 😉 But change can be hard, I agree. At least we have the best guide for the changes ahead. 🙂

Leave a Reply

