Being A Christian

“You’re a Christian?” she asked, eyes wide. She was thoroughly surprised.

“Yes,” I nodded. We’d recently met at an acting camp and I’d told her about my trip to Mexico which led to the fact that I was a Christian.

“Sorry, I’m not religious at all,” she apologized.

“That’s ok,” I replied. “Did I not seem like a Christian?” I wondered if it was bad that I hadn’t come across as a Christian to her.

“No, not at all. The only Christians I know are really judgemental.”

~~~

Sometimes I wonder why I am a Christian. Why I go to church. Why I do the things I do. Because sometimes being a Christian seems like everything it’s not supposed to be.

I never wonder why I love God. I don’t have perfect faith, but I always know that He is worthy. I love Him and He loves me. God is good. He is right, beautiful, and pure. The problem is that church is not always the same.

The simple truth is that the church is made up of a group of people. They’re sinful humans who are capable of hurting feelings and making mistakes. And sometimes, despite good intentions, church is a place where people are deeply, severely hurt.

But people don’t get it. I mean, it’s church for crying out loud! How could a building with a sign that says “Everyone Welcome” and a group that gives out free juice every Sunday have the ability to hurt? What could be so unloving about that? The truth is, there is a lot that the church does and is doing to hurt people.

Yes, church is full of wonderful and loving people with good intentions. The church attempts to welcome people with open arms. But sometimes, intentions are twisted. Sometimes, lies are told, people are judged, and the arms of love are withheld. It’s time Christians acknowledged that the church is far from perfect.

My friend at acting camp was absolutely right when she said that Christians are judgemental. We are judgemental and I can certainly understand why she has run from religion. I would have run myself if it weren’t for grace.

For there is a God who is everything that the church is not. He redeems us with His grace every time we mess up. He is the one we should look to for the perfection we seek and the love that we crave. God is what being a Christian should be about.

~~~

There is a lot on my heart right now. I don’t know how to share it all, but I know that I must. I’m going to be talking about the church and the hurt that it causes when I can. I’ll still be posting on other topics… this is just a new one I’d like to introduce. I think it will be controversial, heavy, and hard, but I’m willing to take the risk.

8 thoughts on “Being A Christian

  1. This entire post sums up my mindset right now. You have no idea how many times people are shocked to hear that I’m a Christian, for the same reason the girl in this post was shocked…that I am not hurtful or judgmental towards them. How saddening to think that it has become the “norm” for Christians to be so…well, unlike Christ.

    I’m looking forward to your next posts on this topic, Liz. It may be controversial to some, but even the hardest and heaviest things must be discussed and brought to life. It helps up to devise solutions to the problems we have in our faith!

    • Ugh, it’s annoying, isn’t it? I’m glad to find other people who agree though. I think that together we can stop this kind of thing… or at least, lessen it.

      Thank you, Kate. It encourages me to write more, knowing that someone is looking forward to these posts. Normally, I can just write for myself and not care, but at times I am cuatious about what I post because I don’t want to offend. You’re right, the hardest and heaviest things must be discussed at times.

  2. Great job, Liz. I know we’ve discussed this type of stuff a fair bit 😉 It’s great that you are delving into this topic. Yes, it’s controversial and yes we disagree on it a bit. I’m really looking forward to your next few posts though. Remember you can’t worry too much about offending people. Some people will always be offended by controversial topics but if people only did things on the basis of noone would be offended by it then nothing much would be done. 🙂 Anyway again fantastic job and I really am looking forward to your next post. 🙂

    • Thank you, Andrew. It really means a lot that you would comment on this post. I really appreciate your support and encouragement on this topic, especially since we don’t totally agree. 🙂

  3. Yes! This topic has been heavy on my heart too, I am so glad you are willing to dive into it! I can’t wait to read more on this topic. It needs to be dealt with, and on a consistent basis. I have a friend now who is not a Christian precisely because of what you are talking about. I feel bad that Christians could cause so much hurt, knowing that I am not exempt from that group. I think it’s important to note that we should not place judgment on the church but on ourselves. Instead of pointing yet another finger (which I know you are not doing) we can begin to truly change.

    • Thanks, Brittany. I’m glad to meet someone else who also wants to make a change!

      And thank you for reminding me that I am also not exempt from this group. I think it’s easy to just say “the church does this” or “Christians are like that” but “I am different.” Perhaps I am not individually responsible for all of the hurt and pain that Christians have caused, but I wasn’t always the nicest kid in Sunday School and unfortunately, I don’t always portray Christ properly on a day-to-day basis.

      But let’s keep striving for a change! It may be difficult, impossible even in some places, but I believe that this is our calling as believers!

Leave a Reply

