Becoming

The journey we call life is an interesting one indeed.

First we are formed by God, grow in our mother’s womb, and are born, screaming our way into the world. I don’t remember being a baby, but I remember when my cousin was born. She was tiny and delicate beyond belief. I loved to hold her, but she was so little I worried that even one touch would ruin her. It’s hard to believe that she’s become a rambunctious, imaginative almost-six-year-old, school going child.

And I remember being her age myself. As my friends say, I have an “insane memory for everything.”

I remember dancing in the kitchen at two-years-old.

I recall the tears I shed over not going to pre-school when all my friends were going. It might not seem like much, but it crashed my little world.

I can still hear the voices of the neighbour kids who used to ask if my sister and I could come out and play. I remember the chalk houses, tree forts, and singing to musicals. Being mad, glad, really mad, and glad at each other all in one day.

I remember birthdays. 8, 9, 10, 11, 12. Each year seemed so new and exciting. Each year was looked forward to because then I would be “older and bigger.”

I’ll never forget becoming a teenager. The pretty paradot ring my mom gave me to remind me that she had confidence that I would make the right decisions in my teenage years. At thirteen, I never comprehended what all that would come to mean.

Then there was 14, 15, 16, and 17. Each new, different, and hard in their own ways. Schoolwork. New places and people. Death. Heartbreak. Sorrow. Joy. Becoming older and different and changing from little girl to young woman.

Today I am eighteen. I no longer dance in the kitchen, but I still wear the ring I got at thirteen. Some things change, others remain the same, and others grow with us as we become.

But as I’ve been thinking on this whole matter of “becoming,” something has struck me. It’s not really about “me becoming the best Elizabeth” or more like myself. The journey of life should be about becoming more like Christ. I know I’ve failed at that time and time again. But there is always grace and the chance to try to become like Christ again.

PS The point of including these crazy pictures of me was to show that despite being “ancient” as some may say, I’m still quiteΒ a kid at heart. πŸ˜‰

6 thoughts on “Becoming

  1. That was a great post, Liz! A neat summary of you up until now. I trust that you will grow in Christ more every moment. He will be your faithful guide, and He’s the one who will walk beside you each step of the way! Love you! ❀
    Love,
    Kale

  2. Whoa… who is saying you’re ancient?! (lol) ‘Cause if you’re ancient then I’m even ancient…er…. I know that’s not a word, but I do that sometimes… make up words.

    • LOL! Don’t worry, Natalie… it’s just a joke my friend and I have with each other. I don’t really think I am ancient! Eighteen does feel pretty old to me because its sort of “adult age,” but I don’t consider other people who are over that age to be old… it just feels weird for me to be eighteen or older! Does that make sense? πŸ˜‰

  3. Eighteen is going to be such an amazing year for you, Liz. College…ah, you’re going to do so well. Lovely pictures you put in here, too. God has so, so, so much planned for you and you are going to touch so many lives! I cannot wait to hear more!

    • Thanks, Kate! πŸ™‚ I have lots of anxiety about university sometimes… so hearing your encouraging words always makes me feel better! I can’t wait to get there either! Thanks for cheering me along. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

