A New Era

Today, I started something new. I began a four-year study. I started on what I believe will be one of the most amazing journies of my life. With the first day of university classes, I embarked into a new era in my young life.

It’s strange. Everything seems the same at home. My parents started work and my sister went back to highschool. Another year just like the last. But for me it was all different. A different place, different people, different topics. A new life.

I passed kids on my way to the bus stop. They were talking about teachers and classes and carried princess lunch kits and paper bags. Some boys chattered about jumping into the gutter and exploring it. They were headed to the elementary school. I was going to university. But I felt just as young as they were. It didn’t seem possible that I could have passed all the grades that they would soon take. Even so, I passed them in the opposite direction.

I was more excited than nervous for my classes. Art History was first followed by English. Then, I went to chapel and had lunch, “Hello my name is” chats, and English readings in my student lounge. Intro to Theatre was a blast and my theatre discussion group was amazing. It all went by so quickly and will be remembered as the first day of my university career.

I honestly don’t have a lot to say about today. I’m tired, feeling a bit sick, quite overwhelmed, but very happy. I’ve been at university since Saturday, getting to know people and learning about the university. I already have friends and have fallen in love with the place I will be spending the next few years. Although God hasn’t shown me even a quarter of what he has in store for me yet, He is giving me an idea of the person He wants me to be. And I already know without a doubt that this is the place that I will accomplish it. In this new era of the wonderful life He has blessed me with.

Posts and comments may be few and far between from now on, but I do hope to try write on a (new) regular schedule. May the Lord bless you all in your new semesters and lives!

8 thoughts on “A New Era

  1. Well I really hope you enjoy university, Liz. Just remember that you are now ancient so you need to relax occasionally. 😛 Yes, university is the “next” step in life but it can be a ton of fun. I hope you make a ton of new friends and that you remember to email and skype us “older” friends occasionally. 😉 I hope you are feeling better soon. 🙂

    • Thanks, Andrew. Well, I did relax last night for a bit before I went to bed. It felt like I was procrastinating though so I didn’t really like it. 😛 And yes, I will always make time to email/Skype with “old” friends as you call it. 😉 Thanks for your comment! And yes, my cold is better! Thanks for praying! 🙂

  2. Congrats on starting Uni, Liz! Your class selection sounds superb (my sister is also taking Art History) and I just know that you are going to be excellent. Looking forward to updates, but studying DEFINITELY comes first!

    • Thanks, Kate! My classes are sooooo interesting! Art History is going to be lots of work academically, but it is really cool, too. 😉 Thanks SO much for the encouragement! I need it right now! And yes, studying definitely does come first! How is university going for you? I should really check your blog out today before I’m swamped with homework again… 🙂

Leave a Reply

