New Years Every Day

A few days ago we welcomed 2013 in, with shouts and tambourines.

As much as I liked last year, its good to start a new one. There is something so refreshing about leaving the old behind and running towards something new and different. Somehow, I’ve always felt that a new year buries the old wounds and scars, at least a little bit and offers room for greater change, growth, and joy. I see each January as a new beginning of sorts.

But what does that new beginning mean?

For some people it means gym memberships and diets as they endeavour to shed the holiday pounds. Many have goals for work or school — a promotion or better grades. Still others nobly strive to improve their relationships with their spouses, children, and God. My own goals or “resolutions” are to be more organized, do my very best in school, rekindle my trust in God, and to develop an attitude of joy. Every year, we make promises to work harder, love others, and live better.

But are these resolutions realistic? Will we actually lose the weight and gain the love? Or are these just the same empty promises that we make every January 1st? A hope to be better, a dream of a fuller life… but is it real? Because I’m tired of scams and shallow decisions. I want something real; I desire to do something worth doing.

We all have good intentions when it comes to new years, but the truth of the matter is, that by January 5th we’re all worn out at the treadmill. Distraction overtakes us, relationships are harder than we think, our joy is quickly lost. And so we go back to the way that we were and decide we’ll do it all “next year.”

But what if we didn’t give up? What would happen if we erased the list of goals and started from scratch? What would happen if we resolved that every day is new years day. What if we gave ourselves a chance to mess up and start fresh every morning?

I have a list of things that I want this year, saved in my head — I may even write them down when I have the chance. I’ll come back to this list throughout the year. I will endeavour to live out my goals and accomplish great things; I will also act upon new discoveries and ideas, as I meet them. But most of all, I won’t let one slip-up ruin my path. I want to live as if every day is a new year, full of hope, forgiveness, and new beginnings; that is my resolution this year.

085

What are your resolutions for 2013?

Leave a Reply

